Beloved And Versatile

“People always say that motivation doesn’t last. Well, neither does bathing – that’s why we recommend it daily”

[Zig Ziglar]

The lovely Patrice, who already bestowed the “Liebster Blog Award” on me some days ago, thinks I am not just loveable or beloved, but also versatile.

And because she really believes that and the proper way to show our convictions in the blog world seems to be an award, she nominated me for “The Versatile Blogger Award”.

Obviously I deserve neither of these awards, but that’s beside the point.

The point is, that Patrice thinks I’ve deserved them, which makes me want to do a little dance in my tiny appartement (in the course of which I would probably pull, stretch or tear one of the many ligaments in my body – which is why I have opted for the “dance-inside-my-head-alternative”).

The reason, Patrice’s recognition means so much to me (and I am soaking it up like a wonderful hot bubble bath right now) is because when I first started blogging (not writing, please note the distinction!) I was hoping to find someone like her.

Someone genuine, kind, loving, understanding and soulful, that would listen to me and could relate to what I have to say and maybe guide me a bit here and there when I stumble down my path.

Wonderfully enough, I didn’t just find someone like her (or rather she found me!), but I found the real deal!

Patrice is all the above and more – she’s perfect imperfection and to me she is the thread that keeps my blog world together. – Thank you, Patrice, for the wonderful that you are. Thank you for making me feel like I belong.

There are just a few rules for this award:

1. In a post on your, blog, nominate 15 fellow bloggers for The Versatile Blogger Award.

2. In the same post, Add the Versatile Blogger Award.

3. In the same post, thank the blogger who nominated you in a post with a link back to their blog.

4. In the same post, share 7 completely random pieces of information about yourself.

5. In the same post, include this set of rules.

6. Inform each nominated blogger of their nomination by posting a comment on each of their blogs.

7 random things about me

  1. I bake when I am worried My mind is constantly thinking. Not productive stuff, just randomly rambling on inside of me, which is especially annoying, when the stuff it says is negative. So to distract myself from that pesky voice, I bake: The more complicated the recipe the higher my anxiety level. When I bake, I am so concentrated on all the steps and the correct measurements, that the voice inside me finally shuts up. I guess I could try training for a marathon, but let’s face it, baking is a lot less physically draining. Everybody in my appartement building loves this approach of mine. One of my neighbours actually confessed, that he prefers me unhappy to happy, because unhappy get’s him german chocolate cake. Isn’t it great to see how unselfish the world around us is?
  2. I never got that darn pony I wanted for christmas, birthdays or good grades I’m a woman, which means at some point I was a girl (I might still turn into a lady someday, but I’ll let future-Kianys deal with that). I loved horseback riding and I wanted my own pony. I think I asked for it for every possible gift day for about 8 years. The first time I asked for a pony, my father got me a stuffed animal. For my next birthday I was more precise and asked for a pony, that was not a stuffed animal and so my dad got me a little figurine. I guess, if I would have been a bit smarter, I would have asked for a real alive pony that I can ride on and call buttercup and maybe then I would have had a more enjoyable time, but as it was I was a bit slow and thus collected quite a lot of figurines, bead spreads, books, earrings, candles and stuffed pony animals over the years
  3. I killed my first pet hamster Maybe because he wanted to make up for the pony issue (or maybe because I didn’t get a puppy either, or pet tiger – those were my top 3), but I had a lot of the really boring pets growing up: hamster, bunnies, mice – the usual. Honestly, those are no fun for kids – especially the hamster. I mean for starters a hamster’s nocturnal! In any case, I didn’t want to except that my hamster (“Flash” just in case you were wondering) wouldn’t at least run in his little wheel every day for a couple of minutes for my amusement. I spent hours (or maybe just minutes, who knows kids have a different sense of time) getting him out of his little house where he was cuddled up asleep in the hay and putting him in his wheel. He would try to turn around and go back to sleep, but I wasn’t having it. I’d force him to stay in his wheel until he did at least a couple of spins in it, before he was allowed to go back to sleep. One day he escaped and we later found him dead behind the fridge in our kitchen. You see, me sleep depriving and torturing my hamster drove him to the extreme and he chose suicide over life in my proximity. I’m sorry, but this just would not have happened, if I had gotten a pony, puppy or pet tiger in the first place
  4. I’m related to the composer Robert Schumann Okay, it’s not the immediate relation, it’s more of the he-was-my-great-(great ?)-grandfathers-cousin-relation, but it still counts! Just in case you were wondering, musical talent is not genetic. Neither me, nor my cousins show any particular talent in that area. We don’t break glass when singing or anything, but there just isn’t anything special there either.
  5. I have a series of birthmarks on my upper right thigh that kind of looks like the big dipper There really isn’t a back story to this one. They are there and when I was a child I connected them with a felt tip marker and sometimes secretly though that this was a sign of God telling me, that I was chosen for greater things, but seeing as it never happened, I guess I was wrong.
  6. I forged my dad’s signature in 2nd grade I don’t know, maybe to you this is not a big deal. Maybe you always forged your parents signatures on absence slips or bad test results. I didn’t. Not because I was little goody-two-shoe’s, I just couldn’t be bothered. I was (with the exception for math) a streight A student, because I loved school (and yes, I know this is nerdy), I loved to learn. In any case, I got a “C” on my math test (my first C ever) and I was too ashamed to have my dad sign off on it, so I forged his signature. Not 100% sure what gave me away, but I am guessing it was the fact that I used a pen with pink-glittery-ink.
  7. I was a nude art model There is not really a huge back story to this one either. I was in law-school and constantly broke. I was working at the schools library and tutoring on the side, but still it never seemed to to add up at the end of the month, so I took a job at an art school close by as a nude model. They paid me 25 bucks an hour for 3 hours, which was more money than I could make anywhere else (except maybe stripping, but like I said, I am klutzy so that probably wouldn’t have worked out). One thing I got out of this job (in addition to a real cool nude study of myself I received as a gift from one of the artists) is an out most respect for nude art models. You thought training for a marathon’s exhausting? Try holding a pose (any pose!) for 15 minutes without moving one inch!

So now I am supposed to nominate 15 fellow bloggers. Sorry, I can’t! I really don’t read that many blogs and I had trouble nominating 5 for the “Liebster Blog Award” all ready. The following is the best I can do:

  1. I only just came across this extremely talented lady (and it might have been because of a nomination, but I am not sure). You know how you have to distinguish between bloggers and writers? Well she’s definitely the latter. Also because she hasn’t been published yet (which I can’t understand for the life of me) she writes her amazing short stories right here on WordPress for everybody to read. You should give her a try: She is amazing – so B.B. this one’s for you!
  2. Angie is phenomenal and she’s a born winner! She wins everything around, so it just wouldn’t be right not to nominate her for this (it’s somewhat of a rule of nature you see, like gravity). If you like a nostalgia trip to the 80’s, or humour, or just random childhood stories – she’s your girl – Thank you for making me laugh, Angie!
  3. I should have nominated this next blogger for the “Liebster Blog Award” – I really should have and I felt bad, that I didn’t. I love the dog-narration-idea, it’s not just creative, but very nicely applied. So I’ll try to make amends by nominating her for the “Versatile Blogger Award” in hopes that she’ll forgive me. Please, rumpy dog, say you will?!
  4. I really, really, really want to nominate Erik. Simply because he is “he” – if that doesn’t make any sense to you, than you have not read his blog yet (head on over now – you are missing out on a wonderful read and an even better guy!) – I am 99.9% sure he’s already been nominated, but honestly, I don’t care! This is about showing appreciation to people who I find special and this list just wouldn’t be complete without him – Sue me!
  5. Some people receive an award, because they have done something in the past, some people because you expect them to do great things in the future (and some like me are just plain lucky!). This next girl only just started posting. I believe it’s her second post up. However, I find her to be remarkable and I believe she has so much to offer in the future. She had an abortion in a country where those are illegal far away from her family. She’s struggling, but not falling and looking for a connection here. Maybe a see a bit of myself in her when I first started. In any case, I think you should keep an eye out for, just in case! Thank you for your honesty, Sarah

So, that’s all folks – I am sure there are many out there deserving of this reward, that I just haven’t found yet.

If you know anyone, even if you haven’t been nominated her let me know and I’ll check out their blog and if I like I’ll pass on the award. -Seriously!

This is a win-win-win situation:

  • I win because I get to read tons of new great blogs
  • The person you “nominate” wins because they receive this awesome award
  • You win, because if the person you “nominated” is not a complete douche (in which case you should not nominate them in the first place!) they will in turn nominate you

After all, we are all winners, right?!

24 thoughts on “Beloved And Versatile

  1. Hello,
    Wow, my heart is all warmed up and I’m actually smiling. I’m not used to being called Sarah since that is only a web alias alias. I am an avid blogger. I have 2 other blogs but my family reads them so I had to make a new account under the name Sarah W. Bartowski which is the name of one of my favourite characters in a TV Series (CHUCK).
    But thank you. Thank you so much for keeping me in mind.

    Take Care
    S.W.B.

    • Yeah, I figured you were not Sarah – most of use aliases on here for whatever reason 🙂

      I’m glad I made you feel warm and fuzzy inside, that’s what an award is supposed to after all.

      When I started blogging I was looking for a connection and eventhough I now realise you didn’t just get started, you are still looking to connect to someone

      -Please just know that people (not just me!) are listening if you share – you are and always will be alone in this decision you made, but you are not isolated and abandoned (at least not if you don’t wish to be)

      Good to see you found your way here 🙂 Glad to have you!

      • Thanks a million.
        Blogging really helps me cope with whatever it is I go through since I was a child. Its because of people like you and many others who connect with me and listen and share.

        stay inspirational
        S.W.B.

    • Gosh: What a relief! I wished everything in the world was as easy to forgive and forget, but I’m guessing the christmas spirit is playing a part in this 😉

      You’ve deserved the award – I love your blog – pass it on – it’s christmas after all 🙂

  2. Thank you, Kianys! What a nice shout-out playing up my winning spirit. And I didn’t even have to draw colonial people to get this. Fantastic!

    I loved your “little known facts”. The hamster one and the forged signature one speak to my heart as they sound like me. And then it completely freaked me to read about the birthmark thing (we were separated at birth?). Seriously, I have a series of small birthmarks on my upper right thigh too (that I always thought were freckles) that I used to connect with a pen when I was a kid. Only mine form a perfect triangle. Weird, maybe we should put our heads together and figure out what these things symbols are telling us? Seems very Indiana Jones to me.

    P.S. I took a lot of art classes in college and drew nudes. I don’t know how they kept their pose so long. It looked painful.

    • Looking back I should have asked you to draw colonial hats just so I could be the proud owner of an original “Angie Z.” painting (those things appreciate – you’ll never know what I could have gotten for that in a couple of years on e-bay – ah well hindsight’s 20/20) 😉

      The thing about the birthmarks is weird. I think you may be on to something. Maybe I was going about it the wrong way – Maybe we have to connect the both of ours in a certain way to decipher the code (yay I might be destined to greatnes after all)

      The nude posing thing is painful – I always prefered to take a pose with my back to the students. Not out of modesty, but simply because I was able bite my lip to distract myself – It was a cool experience though 🙂

  3. I’m sorry, it’s really early in the morning where I am — I forgot to proof my comment and now I see it was riddled with errors/typos/etc. I’ll understand if you need to take back the award out of principle 😉

    • You’ve read my comments, right?

      I’m not a grammar or spelling Nazi – yeah it’s important, but honestly busy, creative people just can’t be bothered with punctuation etc. (Same goes for just plain lazy people like myself)

      If anything this makes you even more award worthy in my eyes 😉

  4. You scare me sometimes…I like that. Thanks coming back and showing us all how to be a wrogger (that’s a hybrid, just make it up for you, writer/blogger). Or would you prefer bliter? I think wrogger sounds less harmful, more earthy, full of a kind of a red rubber ball quality. Seriously though, thank you. I think having a few people you feel you can trust here or in the world makes all the difference when it comes to taking risks/putting ourselves out there. It’s nice to be received, and so I thank you, as you’ve been an open door to me. “You’ve ruined me for anyone else…” (Micheal Cane in Hannah and Her Sisters)

    OK, that said, your list rocks. I love it. There’s is a lot of juice in it, so I will give you an A plus. I can so see you measuring and leveling the little tufts of flour in their cups. And yes, baking will make you a much better person than running a marathon (there’s a super funny post of FP about marathoners btw).

    • Yes – I read that marathon post and loved it (which is rare since I usually think most of the stuff that gets fp-ed is overrated) – Actually, the reason I used marathon in comparision is because of this blog – otherwise I would have probably used something like doing crossword puzzels or maybe knitting (I loathe knitting – I am horrible at it and frustrates me to no end)

      I’ll take wrogger – Wrogger sounds like one of those extremly loyal shaggy mutts – I like that – I always though mutts where way better than pure breads – they have more personality (I also read somewhere that they are smarter, but that might just be a myth we tell them so they feel better about not having a pedigree)

      Not sure, if I like that I scare you – “surprised” would have been a term I would have prefered, but I’ll take what I can get

      In closing, let me add that the door swings both ways 🙂

      • My strange brain interprets surprise as fear…just ask my poor husband :). I’m working on it though… I will rephrase, “You suprise me…I like that.”

        Yeah, wrogger does sound like a loyal shaggy dog…that’s perfect!

  5. Thank you!!!

    It’s always warming to receive accolades from bloggers you respect and adore. It’ll be a few days before I can respond and renominate but I look forward to it.

    1) There are much worse things you could do, and if German Chocolate cake is the byproduct of worrisomeness for you, then by all means, even at your worst, you make the world a sweeter place.

    2) Do you think the future ‘lady’ Kianys will want a horse instead of a pony?

    3) Pet Tiger?! Now that would have been exciting! I had a dog, at a few different points and let me say that the insanity of being in charge of a dog was one thing. I can’t imagine a pet tiger when it starts to teethe.

    4) I just went out and found some youtube videos of one of his symphonies, the comments section had nothing but wonderful things to say about him. I imagine that even though you don’t carry the musical genetics he had, it’s still heartwarming to know that to this day people still feel good about the work he did.

    5) Your story is only just now being written! I feel our greatest gifts to the universe can only happen once we are whole adults, so hang in there. Those stars aligned on you for a reason AND, the north star is part of the big dipper. Before we had compasses, we navigated the world, the seas, and the inlands by that directional beacon. I think that says something about you already.

    6) LOL! pink glitter ink. I too did this… I think every kid has considered it even if they didn’t do it. Mine forgeries were mostly for ‘absent from school’ notes.

    7) Like Angie above, I took a 2d drawing class in college where we drew nudes. I took forever to draw anything (never mind the human body!) whereas my peers in class could sketch something out rather rapidly. I still look for lines, curves, lighting, and intersections… I’ve always wondered how those men and woman had the courage (or the need to) be nude models. Of course at the time, those models were actually more mature than I was but that’s a whole other story.

    Thank you for sharing with us!

    • Yeah, maybe not (although I am not really sure what goes on in a hamsters brain – can you drive them over the ledge?)

      Thank you for exonerating me though 🙂

      I’m really glad you stopped by – I spend so much time on your blog, it’s kind of neat to have you over for a chat 🙂

  6. You are welcome, Erik ( I know I should be re-thanking you, but I kind of feel like we are doing a lot of that and it feels neat to break the cycle)

    1) You obviously have not seen my kitchen after one of my bakings sprees (or myself for that matter – I look like Casper with flower all over me) – but i like the part about making the world a sweeter place – that’s pretty cute – make’s me feel wholesome somehow

    2) Not sure, if the lady Kianys would want a horse, but my guess is “no”. Mind you I said “I loved horseback riding”, never once did I say I was good at it – and let’s face the fall from a pony isn’t as steep as the fall from a horse – Unless obviously she somehow figures out how to fall gracefully and not just rock plummet, than maybe a horse would give the onlooker a better opportunity to savour her elegant fall

    3) Yeah, I didn’t really think of the practicability of all that, I basically thought my tiger would be walking on his hind legs, eating tuna sandwiches on the run and helping me with my math problems – I blame Bill Watterson for that

    4) Honestly – and it IS quite shameful to admit that – but I don’t think I have ever conciously (as an adult) listened to his music. Now there is something I need to change right there! I was a Chopin lover as a kid (well Chopin and NKOTB – see I told you I was weird)… .

    5) This, Sir, warmed my heart!

    6) As intelligent as I was, I must admit I was not the brightest 😉

    7) Actually the courage thing wasn’t that big of a deal. I mean obviously I was terrified the first time, but after five minutes or so I realised that nobody in this room was looking at me sexually or even as a person – to them all I was was geometrical shapes in space. They could have been painting a still life of a fruit basket – would have been all the same to them. (It might have helped that the majority of the class – at least the first time – were women though)
    Side note: I was the youngest model in this class by far. I was – what 21? 22 maybe? – the other models were all in their late 30s early 40s – and there were no male models (not sure why? Is it harder for a man to shed his clothes in public than a woman?)

  7. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award « Urbanbuda's Project 365 Photoblog

  8. Pingback: People Who Don’t Know Me Think I’m Awesome | Thirty Years Of Growing Pain(s)

  9. Pingback: Apparently, Versatiler | Thirty Years Of Growing Pain(s)

  10. Pingback: A Spark In The Dark | Thirty Years Of Growing Pain(s)

  11. Pingback: Everyone’s A Winner! | Thirty Years Of Growing Pain(s)

Leave a Reply

