Apparently, Versatiler

“A little sincerity is a dangerous thing,

and a great deal of it

is absolutely fatal.”

[Oscar Wilde]

I’m beginning to develop a new talent:

“The talent of accepting recognition by others through awards.”

This is especially notable, because it takes a certain amount of refreshing self-denial to ignore the creeping feeling of being undeserving.

Also, this talent fits nicely into my other multiple talents, that are good for nothing except my own enjoyment and the distraction of others. I firmly believe everybody should have at least one useless talent. I really do.

All of my talents (including the most recent one) apparently make me not just beloved and versatile, but “versatil(er)” (oh be still my beating heart).

Thank you, Quieter Elephant, for bestowing this award on me: How fun and twice as nice!

In the interest of full disclosure, I should probably add, that Quieter Elephant has only started his adventure here a short while ago, so he hasn’t gotten acquainted with all the versatile this place holds yet. Still, I am quite certain in my delusion, that I would have made the cut no matter how many blogs were on his blog roll.

(update: I just checked his acceptance post and as it turns out he knows more people than he thought he did – don’t we all – so yes, I was right in thinking I’d be versatile even within the masses)

The reason I have chosen to post about this (again) and not just quietly and humbly accept the honor is not (just) because I can publicly thank the kind bestower (is that a word? well it is now) and can publicly bask in the warmth of yet another award, but primarily, because I can nominate new people I’ve found through Project 365 (366 – Quieter Elephant was also the one to kindly point out to me, that yes this year’s a leap year. I’ve totally gotten over that by the way. I welcome criticism the same way Lucy Lu does in Kill Bill Volume I, so I want to take this opportunity to encourage you to always speak your mind freely here) and I can share 7 more dirty, random little facts about me.

Every social realm has its own rules (written and unwritten), here are the ones for accepting this award in the blogosphere.

The Rules: 

1. Thank the award-giver and link back to them in your post.

2. Share 7 things about yourself.

3. Pass this award along to 15 or 20.

4. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award.

7 (more) random things about myself

  1. When I read poetry, in my head, I start a dialogue with the poet – To those of you who read comments on my posts, that’s old news, but it’s random enough to share here. I should mention that those dialogues are not always friendly. Most often than not they turn into arguments with them regarding the limitation of their work (which probably says more about my mental state than theirs)
  2. I have had my wedding all planned out since I was fourteen – Yes, I could take you through every detail, but in all honesty, who really cares. Suffice it to say, that one of the smaller problems with my dream wedding is the ice-cream wedding cake for my beach wedding in July. Well that and the minor detail of lacking a groom and date
  3. I loathe brushing my teeth – Before you get all “yuck” and “gross” on me, re-read the fact. I didn’t say I don’t brush my teeth, I said I loathe doing it. In the words of Calvin (no, not the philosopher, the comic character from the awesome strips of “Calvin and Hobbes” by Bill Watterson): “It seems like such a waste of time. They’ll only get dirty again.”
  4. The first time I manipulated my father (consciously) I was four – We all manipulate our parents to some extent, just like they manipulate us. It’s a fact of life! When I was four, I had a tape player and tapes. Most of them were annoying children songs that are revolting for the mind and ears to everyone past the age of eight, but some of them were stories, too. This one tape (and for the life of me I can neither remember name nor narrative) included a line of a little girl saying the following to her father: “Daddy, sometimes when you scold me like that, I’m afraid you don’t love me anymore. Please say you love me Daddy. I promise I’ll be good.” I performed this line perfectly to my Dad after being reprimanded for stealing cookies before dinner time from the cookie jar. I think I even added a trembling lower lip and sad bambie eyes for the dramatic effect.
  5. My first (german) word(s) was illegal credit agreement – Technically, in the English language that’s three words, but since the Germans adore creating long and winding words compiled of several separate words, it’s really just two words in German and the way I pronounced it, it sounded like one (for all those of you dying to know what illegal credit agreement is in German, it’s “sittenwidriger Kreditvertrag” – try saying that fast three times). I kidd you not those were my first German words (no wonder I chose a legal career path!). The back story is, that my father, a lawyer himself, was dealing with a bunch of those around the time I was three-ish. Since my mother had just passed away and he didn’t really know what to do with me, I spent a lot of time in his study listening to him dictate stuff. Well this just happened to be one of the more common terms he’d say out loud (My first ever word by the way was either “duck” or “truck”, my father can’t be pinned down exactly on one of them).
  6. I completely botched my first kiss – I don’t know about you, but no one I ever met (no matter how much they practiced on their hand beforehand), has ever experienced a hollywood type sweet first kiss (at least no one has told me they have). So I guess my story isn’t that unusual. Except maybe in that, that when I say I botched my first kiss, I mean we never actually looked lips. I’m not completely sure how old I was, but I can’t have been older than seven. Remember that pony I always wanted and never got? Well, my father made up for it by sending me to horseback riding camp every possibility he got. One of those camps was a day camp and there was an older boy ( he might have been as old as nine), who took a liking to me. Anyways, during lunch breaks, we would spend romantic dates on the jungle gym close to the stables. This one time, as he was hanging head-down by his knees from the jungle gym, he heroically proclaimed, that he would not get down, until I gave him a kiss. I blushed and froze and said “no, no, no” over and over again in a very hysterical, high-pitched voice. At first he didn’t relent, but after a while the blood-flow to his head probably made his resolve a bit less comfortable, so he scrambled down from the jungle gym and walked away. He never talked to me again and two days later he was walking around with another girl holding hands (I bet she kissed him on the jungle gym, that slut!)
  7. I ran away from home when I was 13 – This is a long and winding tale and should probably be a post on its own, but I’ll try to keep it short here (yeah right?!). My father had an endless strings of girlfriends (most of which I just ignored, some of which I couldn’t stand and none of which I accepted – well until I was sixteen at least). Usually, I had my sly methods of getting rid of them (calling them by different first names and then apologizing and saying it was so hard for me to keep all the names of all the lady-friends of my dad’s separate – stuff like that, the usual). There was only one that threatened me. For the sake of this post let’s call her “Eva” (I actually refered to her as Eva Brown a lot, which totally pissed her off). Not only was Eva a former lingerée model, she was also well-travelled, fluent in many languages and Cambridge educated. Also, she saw through all my little games. Suffice it to say, I hated her guts. Well, when I realized, I wouldn’t win this battle I stole money out of my dads foreign currency drawer in his study, exchanged it at the bank, left a mellow-dramatic fare well letter to my father, tied pots to my backpack I had stuffed with all the necessary essentials (junk food, books, my discman and a Backstreet Boys cd), bought a train ticket to Hamburg, got on the train and left. Obviously there is more to this story and if you want to hear it, I will share it, but this is the essential (well the running away part of it, not the getting there or coming back part obviously).

The nominees

  1. 365Vets – Frankly they are she’s not versatile, so she’d be better off with the “Liebster Blog Award”, but this is the one I have to pass on and I think her sphere, in which she gives families of veterans and veterans themselves a place to speak their truth and be heard is worth the recognition.
  2. Eldon – Think awkward, think weird sitcom, think life and ramblings of a group of random friends. This and more is Eldon.
  3. Hotdogs and Marmalade – Have you ever wondered what life would be with a parent succumbing to Alzheimer’s? Yes, it’s difficult and painful, but it’s also hysterical at times. She tells her own personal experiences with her mother with a loving heart and a twinkle in her eye  – enough said
  4. Law and the Multiverse – I love this blog. Love it. Heart it. Totally. These two guys are geniuses! They explain the concept(s) of common law through Marvel and DC comics. – How cool is that?! And believe me, it’s not just for those interested in legal issues. Seriously, they rock!
  5. What to say about Jorah and her place with the bitter-sweet name Terminally beautiful life? Diaries of a dying girl is what she calls them. I call them a celebration of life. The dark, the light and the in-between. This is raw, guys, raw and honest. Tread there with humility, dignity, respect and a great appreciation for her humor, heart and spirit. She deserves the best you have to offer.
  6. Would you try to better yourself through the course of a year? Acknowledge your weaknesses and flaws and resolve to actually confront them head on. This is what he is doing @ The better man project
  7. This blog speaks for itself: The privileged contrarian
  8. This guy should be on my blogroll and I was very surprised to see I’d forgotten to put him there – I will have to remedy this as soon as I finish this post – The life of fatherless son. I feel it’s very fitting for me to nominate him: Crawling King Snake
  9. Someone else, who should be on my blog roll and apparently never appeared on it (gosh this thing needs an update!) – Life through the eyes of a cosmic wanderer: Strange Trip Times
  10. I sincerely applaud the guts of someone putting himself out there with his own pieces of art, even if he’s as talented as this guy and doesn’t have anything to fear in the process: Sakura Lights
  11. The next lady is a true writer showing us Snippets and Glimpses of her life. Not all of it is light, but all of it is worth it.
  12. Worrywarts! I know she’s already won this, but seriously I could care less – I haven’t awarded her with this yet, so I’m still free to nominate her. Above all – I know you will fall in love with her Guide to Sex, Weight and Marriage the same way I did and selfless as I don’t want you to miss out on this one, it would be a shame.

I know the rules call for twenty and yes, I stopped at a 12. I have this weird notion of only awarding people I deem worthy of awards. So far, and because I don’t want to nominate people again (but YOU want to do yourself a favor and check them out here) I’ve already nominated this will have to do… . Live with it!

Or better yet, tell me about others who do deserve it. Seriously. I want to pass this along to people out there deserving of recognition and I want to find good reads – It’s a win-win situation. Really.

Update: To get your cute little green badge, which you’ve totally earned, go to my first lengthy award speech (linked above) and grab it from there.

[Apparently embedding has been deactivated for this clip, so if you have a soft spot for Rocky deep down inside follow it to YouTube, if not ignore it the same way you would have anyway]

29 thoughts on “Apparently, Versatiler

  1. Thank you for the award. I will have to work on our response to it. I know of several worthy blogs. I am so new to the blogging that I don’t know much about these awards other than seeing them posted here and there. Thank you for the nomination we appreciate the support and recognition.

    T. Shang

    • You deserve it! Seriously don’t worry too much about a reply – just share the love to those you feel deserve recognition

      🙂 K.

  2. Your kind words literally took my breath away. Thank you so much. I will do my best to pass this along, but I’m like you…there are few I really deem worthy. So, really, this means a lot to me. Thank you so much.

    • Hah! Asuming “well crafted”‘s standing in for “lenghty” I’d agree 😉

      Thanks again for the nomination and I’m glad you haven’t lived to regret this decision (yet) 😉

      🙂 K.

    • Yeah, there are some fine reads in there – all in their own right obviously 🙂

      Thanks for taking the time to read through this rather lenghty and winding “acceptance speech 🙂

  3. There’s four in there I love intimitately, and I totally see and agree with your choices and the way you describe them. I echo your sentiments about them and am heartened that *your* voice carries these people’s blogs into a wider audience as well.

    It looks like I have 3 new places to check out too! 🙂

    You know I can relate, right? or have a related story to each of your shares, um, so let’s get a little of that out of the way.
    1) I am actually fascinated by this and it explains why you are able to understand me I believe. Whole blog post right?

    2) I care, so consider it a prompt for another days post? Let me add, I went to the most beautiful wedding this past summer on the beach (ocean) and the only thing that detracted? The waves drown out the oration. Bring battery powered loud speakers… They’ll want to hear the vows you come up with for sure. I can only imagine them. *closes eyes and imagines*

    3) or dishes, or splitting wood, or folding laundry, or making the bed… As a kid I wanted to be an inventor to build machines to do these things for us already, brushing my teeth falls in the category of Unmachinable, and thus more resent able but who wants dentures early right?
    4) http://www23.us.archive.org/stream/stardustdandelio00zeig/stardustdandelio00zeig_djvu.txt ?  About half way down there’s a poem that sounds similiar.

    5) For the life of me, I tried to get all my kids first word to be onomatopoeia.  It wasn’t there first but it was not far behind. 😉

    6) first kiss? Completely botched.  Second made up for it though I assure you.My First kiss was Holly during the summer I was 12.  We  played video games at her parents house, great gal.  Her grandparents lived across the way and had a swimming pool! Of course as lackluster preteens, we had to make our way into that pool.   Standing there, waist deep in water, in a moment of silence, while I was just busy staring into her eyes, she snuck in a kiss on my nose!  I was so nervous and embarrassed that I dunked under the water and hid under an overturned water float.  Today, Holly is lesbian through and through and looking back, I am glad this memory for her was only part of an experimental phase.  Still feel a little unsuave about that one.

    7) I ran away to my front porch when I was in third grade(8 yrs old) because I’d mistakenly messed up the washing machine and it flowed out, over the top, and into the downstairs aparment.  The more interesting story was when I was kicked out in 8th grade (13 yrs old) or when I *may have* helped someone else runaway from home when I was 17.  All worthy future posts. 

    • Oh my god – yes that poem is crazy close! Took me a while of scrolling to find it, but I loved it! I was so lacking inspiration as a chid. Just think what I could have done with all of those lines 😉

      Yes definetly blog away – I want to read all (greedy little thing that I am!). I’ll think about the wedding post – not that I don’t want to share, just really unsure, if anyone beside you would be interested in this (not that that’s the barometer for writing on here, but it really doesn’t make a huge storyI Let me see if I can work out an angle that might make for a nicer read than a list of flower arrangements and bridesmaids dresses 😉

      To be fair, as I pointed out, it wasn’t my first overall word. I stopped speaking english after my mom died and started speaking German gradually – so there was some intermediate time where I was doing a lot of pointing and grunting I suppose. I think onomatopoeia rocks. I’ll have to come up with a cool word for my kids to say, when the time comes, but I really want their first word to be “Mom” or “Mama” – I know, I’m cheezy 😉

      I love your first kiss story – My (real) first kiss story is completly linked to my first time story (I was 13), which is kind of sad in a way – but than again, that’s a different post all together 🙂

  4. The exposure to my artwork has doubled and on some days tripled due to these nominations. I’m not totally sure what it means but it is so great to know that my art has touched someone in a way that has caused them pause and to pass on whatever they feel they’ve received from viewing my work. I’m honored and flattered by the nomination! Thank you.

    Part of me wonders if I’m doing this to bloat my ego; for example, when I tell my partner about new visitors viewing or commenting on my artwork, she just smiles at me. You know, that “good for you, dear” kind of smile. So I look inward and wonder why I am so excited that people are looking at my stuff? Am I being vain? Then I re-remember (just made that word up – I’m an artist AND a wordsmith), I create for me because it’s my artwork. But like Michelangelo or da Vinci or Picaso or Warhol, I still enjoy when what I create somehow affects others.

    I’ve been told I have a bit of narcissistic tendencies. This scares me. I know narcissistic people and I don’t want to be like that – I’m so much better than they are (just kidding). Actually, I may have been told that I’m extremely narcissistic. I can’t remember. Maybe because it didn’t feed my ego. I just want to be liked. It’s quite pathetic, I think, but fueled from a childhood of being bullied and not really having a day-to-day male figure to teach an impressionable young boy how to handle this cold cruel world of abundantly bumping and conflicting personalities.

    Anyway, again, I am so very grateful for the nomination and I must stop writing now or I won’t have 7 things to share about myself in my nominations post!

    Thank you! Thank you. Thank you, thanks. And thank you. 🙂
    P.S. Thank you!!

    • This reply made me laugh! – Gosh you are so cute and I can so relate to ongoing ramblings, when all that’s needed is a “Thank You”, if at all 😉
      (if you’ve ever read a comment of mine, you’d know! 🙂 )

      I’m glad, you are honored or flattered or both, but most of all, I am glad more people have been stopping by your place. I love your art and it definetly deserves all the attention it can get 🙂

      Regarding the pride and narcicistic tendencies – Ah well, I believe anyone with a blog is somewhat concerned with themselves or they wouldn’t believe that other people would interested in what they have to say / post / share etc. I think it’s a good thing. Like everything else, obviously, it’s best in moderation. I think it was Paracelsus who said: “It’s the quantity that makes the poison.” 😉

      Plus, I think being proud of yourself is positive – well it beats putting yourself down all the time 🙂

  5. Pingback: Rewarding Change and Growth – Versatile Blogger Award « sakuralights

  6. Pingback: A Spark In The Dark | Thirty Years Of Growing Pain(s)

  7. Pingback: Everyone’s A Winner! | Thirty Years Of Growing Pain(s)

  8. Pingback: Awards «

  9. Loved reading your random things about you — so funny on the kiss and the manipulation. My first kiss in my mind was something like a stroke victim trying to form words with their drooping lips. Horrible, awful, let’s not talk about it ever again.

    • The manipulation part is pretty funny, right?! In all honesty, I had completely forgotten it, until my father mentioned it to me a couple of years ago. At first I outright denied this ever happened, but then when I thought about it the images came back ( a bit fuzzy, but that was the quality they had back in 86 😉 ) – At first my dad totally bought into it by the way. It wasn’t until weeks later that he walked into the room when I was listening to the tape and heard the little girls lines on the tape 😉

      The kiss – yeah – I guess first kisses (or almost first kisses) are never our proudest moments, I don’t care how many My Girl movies Hollywood produces (although I am a sucker for Anna Chlumsky!) 🙂

      Glad you enjoyed diving a bit deeper into the random that is me 😉

      So proud having you as my suscriber by the way, that really made my day 🙂

  10. My useless talent is clapping. My wife calls it my Super Power as its actually quite loud. I can embarrass here with it.

    And my daughter has you beat. She started manipulating us around 2. But she is truly ahead of her time! Great post!

    • What a great super power: That’s a sure thing to turn heads! 😀

      I can’t even whistle or snap loudly, but I do have a rather loud laugh, which is also great for directing the lime light to oneself (oh yeah and I guess for embarrassing your friends and family too, but that’s just a bonus!). 😉

      On another post about super powers, which I absolutely loved (and therefore included the link for you here: http://susserativeaspirations.wordpress.com/2012/01/15/on-the-matter-of-superheroes/ ),
      I said I wanted my superpower to be mind reading. I still think that would be awesome, but due to recent developments, I think I’d opt for the super power of knowing exactly what pair of jeans fits your body type and makes your legs look extra long, butt extra firm, without trying them on!

      Are you sure, your daughter isn’t a secret child genius? She’s got the looks, the spark and the brains. You’d better watch out for this one, when she hits puberty 😉

Leave a Reply

