My Boring, But Absolutely Pleasing, Not Danceable Saturday Night Playlist

“Old age is like everything else.

To make a success of it,

you’ve got to start young.”

 

[Fred Astaire]

I’m old.

Not in years.

Considering that 30 is probably the new 20 and with a bit of luck even the new 15 (which would explain the unhealthy shine my skin has taken to over the last couple of days – weeks?), I’m really not old in years.

I know that.

Sometimes, when I see the fresh faces of 25-year-old enthusiastic law trainees right out of law school, I have to remind myself of it, but deep down inside I really know I’m not old.

However, sometimes, that doesn’t stop me from realizing I’m old in the demographic way. The way that advertising companies decide what age group you belong to. The way that fashion designers decide what shirt your supposed to wear.

This age-awareness isn’t a new thing by the way. I think the first time it hit me, was when I was barly nine-teen and all of my first phonetic party memories were sold of to people as “Classic Party Hits”. I hadn’t even begun to live yet, how could anything that had been novel and hip to me only two seconds ago, be considered classic?

But that probably wasn’t the first time I stood out as being old. I was a reader growing up and I quickly progressed from “The Chronicles Of Narnia” to “Love In Times Of The Cholera”.

I raided my father’s study and read everything I could get my hands on (“Joy Of Sex” being among them when I was around eight or maybe nine, which saved my father from having “The Talk” with me, which I’m sure he secretly appreciated).

But wait, I’m digressing.

What I mean is, that I’m not out there clubbing and living it up big time on night streets of Cologne or DΓΌsseldorf. I don’t know the bouncers of the in-clubs. I don’t even know which the new in-clubs are.

I won’t wake up tomorrow with a hang-over.

When people ask, I tell them it’s because I can’t afford it. Because I have another practice exam tomorrow. Because I need to be fit and awake in the morning.

All of that is true, but the real secret is, I enjoy lazily lying on the couch reading blogs, playing little adventure computer games (nothing too exciting) and listening to my own saturday night playlist, which is completely un-danceable and maybe even a bit boring.

This is my favorite night of the week. Ah the crazy hedonism of saturday nights for my old soul.

[“Nothing Like You and I” – The Perishers]

[“Go Outside” – Cults]

[“Love And Some Verses” – Iron And Wine]

[“Paperweight” – Joshua Radin]

[“You and I” – Ingrid Michaelson]

[“Forget Me Not” – The Civil Wars]

[“From Where I’m Standing” – Schuyler Fisk]

[“Marry Song” – Band Of Horses]

[“Better Times” – Beach House]

[“Vinalhaven Harbour” – Stephanie Dosen]

[“Rebellion” – The Arcade Fire]

[“My Dream Girl Don’t Exist” – Neutral Milk Hotel]

[“The Engine Driver” – The Decemberists]

[“Find Home” – The Honey Trees]

[“Who Knows, Who Cares” – Local Natives]

[“Awake My Soul” – Mumford & Sons – Goodbye India Tribute Series]

[“Don’t Ask Me Why” – Laura Marling]

[“Light A Way” – He Is We]

[“Steal His Heart” – Emily And The Woods]

[“Sparks” – Jesse Woods]

[“A Night Like This” – Julie Peel]

[“Quelqu’un M’A Dit Que” – Carla Bruni]

[“Sink In” – The Paper Kites]

[“Cherry Tulips” – Headlights]

 

[“Good Man” – Josh Ritter]

[“Tell Me In The Morning” – Cold War Kids]

[Sidenote: I’ll let you go with my one of the best encores I coud think of – Unfortunately you will have to follow it to Reverbnation and hit the play button to the left of the screen – it’s to indie to be imbedded here: “Young Goodman Brown” – The Scarlet Furies ]

15 thoughts on “My Boring, But Absolutely Pleasing, Not Danceable Saturday Night Playlist

    • Please do! I’d love to hear what you thing πŸ™‚ I tried to find the best versions on YouTube, but I think one or two might be a bit off, but I wanted to included them anyways πŸ˜‰

      Oh and just for the record, you may be old in years (can’t judge that), but your younger in your mind than a lot of 40-somethings I work with daily – and I’m not even kidding πŸ™‚

    • Exactly! Somehow most people my age (w/o kids) still feel like they have to be at every hot-spot in town until the sun comes up saturday night – I can’t do it – It wears me out and to me (somehow) it’s ever worth. I’d rather have a couple of friends over for dinner and just catch up over some good food and maybe some good wine πŸ™‚ (or obviously at a sweat fest – balloon searching πŸ˜‰ )

  1. holy heck… I wasn’t expecting such a play list… this will surely fill my day! yay!.
    oh and you’ve got some excellent taste there. I know Nataly already commented extensively on this but it’s like music nirvana on your Saturday night. Sweet. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ I love good music. Basically any kind of good music (although I have to admit I can’t do house, trance or techno – I think my heart rate’s to slow and they make feel stressed or something).

      Well, I mean taste is debatetable and all, but I just appreciate gripping voices and a good set up of instruments πŸ˜‰

      – Let me know what you think of them, please. I’d really like to know which ones work for you as well… πŸ™‚

      • I need to go back through the them again (just finished 3 days later) but the entire set is one big love story. About half I haven’t ever heard, so it’ll take another listen or two to get a feel for how I like them, connect to them, or not. Like what I wrote for Cold War Kids -Tell me in the morning;
        “I like the lyrics, but the music/voice harmonics feels a little like a puppy dog nipping at my heels.” (which really just means that by the 5th time listening I’ll be picking up that puppy and teaching it that kisses are better than nipping at heals)

        Again, the lyrics even in this song help to create an overarching story that’s sort of breathtaking.
        Little jealous. I’ll have to admit to be honest but mostly, I’m better for having heard it and additionally/separately grateful for you introducing us to so many wonderful new artists.
        πŸ™‚

  2. These songs are great.

    You know when I realized I was old? Well, I always knew it was sneaking up on me. But that weekend when I was out with my friend Matt drawing and having drinks in a college town, I didn’t get carded for alcohol once. Nope. Not once. IN a COLLEGE TOWN ordering ALCOHOL! Wow – you KNOW you’ve reach ‘age’ when that happens. :-/

    • Yeah, I know how that goes – well actually not so much the carding thing drinking in a college town, but get this, the other day a rugged looking 13 y.o.(ish) teenage boy offered me his seat on the bus and to make matters worse he adressed me as “Ma’am” (well the German equivalent) – I mean seriously?! And the worst part about it was that I couldn’t even complain about the rudeness of today’s youth (I think just typing this just added about 25 years to my age) πŸ˜‰

  3. Pingback: The Playlist Continued Or Stuff That Should Be On Your MP3 Player On Mondays | Thirty Years Of Growing Pain(s)

Leave a Reply

