46 Of 365 (366) For 2012

[ All credit to Tommy May a.k.a. tlmay305, whose lovely picture may be found here. ]

 

“What do Americans know about morality?

They don’t want their presidents to have penises but they don’t mind if their presidents covertly arrange to support the Nicaraguan rebel forces after Congress has restricted such aid;

they don’t want their presidents to deceive their wives but they don’t mind if their presidents deceive Congress- lies to the people and violate the people’s constitution!”

[ John IrvingA prayer for Owen Meany ]

 

[sidenote: To all American readers – Mind you, this is not something unique to the U.S. of A., I could substitute most to all European Countries as well. I thought about exchanging “Americans” for “people” but I didn’t want to mess with the quote. Please just know, that that was my sentiment. -Thank You.]

8 thoughts on “46 Of 365 (366) For 2012

  1. Until we work out exactly what it is that we admire we’ll continue (all over the world) to elect politicians who fall short – or maybe even reflect our dark sides? Do we, for example, disapprove of greed itself or only if it impacts on us? Do we admire fidelity – in every sense of the word – or do we just want an appearance of same? And so on and so forth…(hope all is going well for you btw)

    • I really appreciate your thoughts, Tricia – thank you. 🙂

      You are right b.t.w. – we need to figure out if “we” (the multi-global-“we”) want / need in a person to lead us and then we have to hope that he/she will be willing to step up to the plate and take on the job (I wouldn’t want to b.t.w. 😉 ). – Do you think there is a common denominator we could all agree upon?

      Oh and your comment reminded me of this quote (who I can’t attribute to anyone, but I know I heard/read it somehow): “We all want to vote for -the best man-, but he’s never a candidate!” 😉

      [Yes, I’m doing okay-ish: A couple of more days before I start and I just can’t wait for it to be over! 😉 Thank you so much for remembering :)]

  2. Great photo an great reflection on politics. Personally until the majority demand a higher standard the our politicans will continue to only meet the lowest common denominator to win votest. I’m from Australia an our politics has hit all time low. Your quote is universally accepted.

    • Thank you: I love it too! 🙂

      (You should really check out Tommy Mays Flickr Stream, which I linked back to below the photo)

      So, even risking sounding like personified ignorance (which I can neither negate nor approve 😉 ): What’s going on in Australia – politically speaking? (Your right about the lowest common denominator btw – kind of works with what Trishia said below).

      Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment: I really appreciate it! 😀

      • hahaha i love you for using a Star Wars reference! You are awesome and just as soon as I figure out how to come up with a neat looking blogroll, you are going on it! 😀

Leave a Reply

