55 Of 365 (366) For 2012

[ All credit to Kimberly Anderson a.k.a. kimberly-jane, whose lovely picture may be found here. ]

“Once committed to fight, cut.

Everything else is secondary.

Cut.

That is your duty, your purpose, your hunger.

There is no rule more important, no commitment that overrides that one.

Cut.

Cut from the void, not from bewilderment.

Cut the enemy as quickly and directly as possible.

Cut decisively, resolutely.

Cut into the enemy’s strength.

Flow through the gaps in his guard.

Cut him.

Cut him down utterly.

Don’t allow him a breath.

Crush him.

Cut him without mercy to the depths of his spirit.”

[ Terry GoodkindThe Sword of TruthFaith of the Fallen ]

4 thoughts on “55 Of 365 (366) For 2012

    • Oh yes. I’m sure. I really am in awe of everybody who commits himself to serve his country and go through such a rigid merciless training preparing him for facing life and death situations. – I can’t even begin to understand.

      I’m really sorry, if comparing my “battle field” to what you experienced was inconsiderate and superflous – I have to admit that never crossed my mind.

      -Forgive me? 🙂

      • You’re kidding me, right?! Inconsiderate? No, hardly. I didn’t draw a comparison at all – let alone allowing myself to be one to judge against you and what experiences you’ve had that reconcile in your heart as a battlefield.

        A man that struggles to wake in the morning, struggles to swing his legs off the bed and get his feet on the ground, a man, that when those feet do hit the startlingly cold, hard floor, has memories that debilitatingly flood his mind; that man stays in bed. Why? Perhaps it’s a trauma from war, or he’s lost his wife to cancer, or his only son died crossing the street after a ball got away. Maybe his dog died. Maybe his meal disappointed him from last night and it was the last straw for him in a series of barrages against his will to carry on in spite of self loathing thoughts of worthlessness. Who knows, and who’s to judge how he handles his struggle – his battlefield. See that? HIS battlefield. HE alone has to cross it, wade through it’s treacheries and face it’s horrors. Who can tell him to hurry or to forget?

        We all have our battlefields. And to each of us singularly, we all must do battle on our own fields. We can not judge others – love is all we can do!

        Only love is real!

        • Thank you so much – I really (REALLY) appreciate you taking the time to reply.

          You are right – obviously – to each his own battlefield, however, I do always have the outmost respect for the men and women of the service not just in the US but everywhere. Being trained to kill is something that I can’t wrap my head around. I understand it comes naturally (to each and every one of us) in a matter of self defense, but to put yourself outthere with one clear instruction is hard to fully grasp unless you’ve experienced it yourself.

          I understand that it’s an important service – a gift if you will – from those who served to those they serve and I honor that deeply.

          Thank you – again – so much!

Leave a Reply

