117 Of 365 (366) For 2012

[ All credit to michael.dreves, whose lovely picture may be found here. ]

β€œEvery one of us is called upon, perhaps many times, to start a new life.

A frightening diagnosis, a marriage, a move, loss of a job… .

And onward full-tilt we go,

pitched and wrecked and absurdly resolute,

driven in spite of everything to make good on a new shore.

To be hopeful,

to embrace one possibility after another-that is surely the basic instinct… .

Crying out: High tide! Time to move out into the glorious debris.

Time to take this life for what it is.”

[ Barbara KingsolverHightide In Tucson: Essays From Now Or Never ]

4 thoughts on “117 Of 365 (366) For 2012

  1. I liked ‘pitched & wrecked & absurdly resolute’ – feel that, a lot. ‘absurdly’ … yes. The picture is absolutely dreamy innocence, & your poem great πŸ™‚
    btw, this is from VodkaWasMyMuse.wordpress.com – not wordsfallfrommyeyes.wordpress.com – I just don’t know how to use my second blog avatar!

    • Ha ha ha: Well wether it’s WordsFallFromMyEyes or VodkaWasMyMuse I’m thrilled you liked this daily post enough to stop by, take a closer look and comment.

      I agree that the line you quoted is absolutely, powerfully haunting – just for the record I should probably clarify that it’s not my poem (I should be so lucky?!) but rather a line taken from Barbara Kingsolvers “Hightide In Tucson” ( I linked back to it below the quote).

      Also totally agree with the photo being phenomenal (although I saw more strength than innocence in it, but I can see what you mean when I look at it now). If you liked this photo you should really check out more of Michael Dreves photos on Flickr (link to his Flickr Stream below the photo) – I think you could enjoy them πŸ˜‰

      • Thank you, Kianys, for taking the time to respond. I knew the poem was credited, yet still it is excellent. I haven’t read Hightide, so it was good to get a piece of it through you πŸ™‚
        Funny you should see strength, & I innocence. My head does spin a bit too much at times, but I found that interesting.

        I’ll try looking at the pics though I don’t have a Flickr Stream account – I’ll see what happens. Photography is awesome, you can look into it for hours. Thanks again… VodkaWasMyMuse.wordpress.com – not wordsfallfrommyeyes.wordpress.com

        • Well VodkaWasMyMuse, if you take the time to comment, I think the least I can do is take the time to reply – don’t you agree?! πŸ˜‰

          Yeah, photography is a very special artform and one I enjoy deeply (that’s why I’m having so much fun with this project πŸ˜‰ )

          I think we see different things in photos because we are different people. -That’s one of the things I love about them. They are a weird mixture of very concrete and very abstract art – lovely!

          I don’t think you need a Flickr stream to look at someone elses b.t.w. . I know I don’t have one and I can access them just fine. I think it’s similar to WordPress in that you can read all posts even if you don’t have your own blog, but would need some sort of an account to comment … πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

