125 Of 365 (366) For 2012

[ All credit to Oliver Živković, whose lovely picture may be found here. ]

“She laughed when there was no joke. She danced when there was no music.

She had no friends, yet she was the friendliest person in school.

In her answers in class, she often spoke of sea horses and stars, but she did not know what a football was…

She was elusive. She was today. She was tomorrow.

She was the faintest scent of a cactus flower, the flitting shadow of an elf owl.

We did not know what to make of her.

In our minds we tried to pin her to a corkboard like a butterfly, but the pin merely went through and away she flew.”

[ Jerry SpinelliStargirl ]

6 thoughts on “125 Of 365 (366) For 2012

  1. Have you read stargirl? You totally should if you haven’t. It’s a quick read and the whole book is as good as this quote. It’s one of my favorite ‘simple’ books in that the story itself is simple and beautiful and not overly complicated. For me I think I read it in two, maybe three, days and was sad when the story was over.

    • No, I haven’t, but I read a pretty complete synopsis on Wikipedia ( I know, I know) – I loved the cheering for both teams and the porcupine tie – I really do want to read it though – She sounds like someone I would fall in love with over and over again 😀

    • Me too! Actually I haven’t read it yet (but like Erik suggested I really should), but I read a synopsis on Wikipedia and it sounds so lovely – no wonder it was a parents choice award winner: I would want my children to read it for sure 😉

      So glad you like the photo with the quote – this one was a tough one for me – somehow nothing seemed to do it justice – My first thought was Puck from A Midsummer Nights Dream, but nothing fit 😉

Leave a Reply

