142 Of 365 (366) For 2012

[ All credit to Desmac1, whose lovely picture may be found here. ]

 

“I’ve known too many stupid intellectuals to believe that education and wisdom come as a package deal along with facts,

it’s your perspective that counts –

your ability to see differently, not just to see a lot.”

 

[Β  Sunny DeckerEmpty Spoon ]

 

[ Sidenote: I tried finding out more about Mrs. or Ms. Decker apart from her being the author of “Empty Spoon”. The little I found is limited to her having been a white High-School English teacher at a predominantly black High-School. If you know more about her, please let me know. ]

6 thoughts on “142 Of 365 (366) For 2012

    • Ha ha – I guess it’s a good thing this blog of mine is (semi-)anonymous, huh?! I’m really sorry you had to suffer a tag-rant here. It was just one of those moments. But seriously, I am really glad I don’t have to spend more than 10 days / year tops with this overly intelligent, narcicistic, patriarchic, snobistic gentleman (who happens to be Phils father and he obviously loves dearly despite all of this – I think it’s actually very much to his benefit that he can see his father clearly and still love him the way he does!). πŸ™‚

    • It does. I come from a long line of academics and education was always highly valued (as are academic titles and the quest for collecting as many letters as possible infront of your last name) and so does Phil.

      So more or less my entire life I have always been sourrounded by a group of people who consider themselves to be somewhat of an intelectual or academic elite (I’m the black sheep, if you haven’t figured that out on your own already).

      The sad thing is that as intelligent and accomplished they may be (and I would never say otherwise), they are seemingly (for the most part) incapable of “seeing differently” and of accepting others for what they are. There is a certain (to me horrid) attitude that comes with considering yourself above others in some respects – it tends to rub off on all aspects of life. -It would be sad, if it didn’t make me so furious at times πŸ˜‰

    • Ha ha – yeah as I told Worrywart and Anessa – snobbism and elitist ideas really get under my skin especially if they are transported into “I can do no wrong”-attitude really get under my skin.

      The man is insufferable at times.

      Ah well, I’m not the number 1 daughter-in-law-to-be in his eyes, if you haven’t guessed yet. πŸ˜‰

      I can actually deal with that – it just makes me angry when Phil gets blamed for my “short comings” and “social deficits and misbehavings”. Poor kid. He has to put up with a lot of crap from the one side of his family for dating someone, who has the unexcuseable tendency to have her own mind and not shy about sharing it. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

