My Happy Days O.S.T.

“Ever since happiness heard your name, it has been running through the streets trying to find you”

[Hafiz of Persia]

 

Going back in time to painful places can drudge up painful feelings. I know that those feelings have to be voiced and heard in order to move on. On the downside this means that for a while now my life-soundtrack has been set exclusively on blues. Sometimes it can feel like an old radio that only receives one station.

So today, I have consciously decided to focus on the rock, the alternative, the jazz, the folk, the country, the classic, the soul, the pop and even the rhythm and blues. Sorry, house will never be in my picture. That’s not a statement of taste, it’s simply a fact of life.

Music and your taste in it depends a lot on your heartbeat. At least that’s my boyfriend’s theory on it and I couldn’t agree more. Something about the rhythm of a song resonates with the rhythm of your heart and ideally they become in sync for the average 4 minutes length of a song. (Interesting piece of trivia, huh?).

I read somewhere that when you become a mother you stop being the picture and you become the frame. A picture without a frame may be subjected stronger to the destructive influences from its surrounding., as it is lacking its protective shield. A missing frame, however, has no influence on the beauty of the picture.

All of this said, today I want to focus on my top 10 of my O.S.T. that accompany my everyday life. Only the happy moments and in no particular order.

Ben Folds

“Landed”

I fell in love with this song when I fell in love with the man in my life. He helped me step out of my shell of pursued perfection and showed me how loveable the flawed and faulted me really is. I owe him my everything and the best part is – he would never even consider collecting that debt.

 

Red Hot Chili Peppers

“Road Trippin'”

The Chili’s were one of the first bands to register with me when I started developing my very own sense in music in my early teens. Obviously the first single of theirs I owned was “Under the bridge”. “Road Trippin'” has another feel to it – it’s calmer, more hopeful, less angry. It makes me happy.

 

Amanda Seyfried

“Happy Little House”

My love affair with Amanda’s voice was instant. This little piece may be on the calmer side, but to me it’s a message of hope. Also this was the first song I recorded myself and for myself and had so much fun doing it.

 

 

Van Morrison

“Brown Eyed Girl”

I have always been partial to this song, because (yes, you’ve guessed it) I am a brown-eyed girl. When I was growing up, I felt like blond and blue-eyed equaled beauty and I begrudged myself for not making the cut. This song helped me to see that even something about myself that I found less beautiful could be beautiful to someone else.

 

Amy Whinehouse

“Valerie”

To me this song makes me want to sing out loud, dance in a dorky way and just plain simple be happy.

 

 

The Rolling Stones

“Angie”

Plain and simple: My middle name is Angela. Plus and this is a huge plus in my book: It’s the frigging Rolling Stones, come one!

 

Raemonn

“Supergirl”

‘Cause I’m a super girl and super girls just fly. We all need a reminder of that sometimes

 

 

John Lennon

“Watching The Wheels”

How much more stepping-back-to-smell-the-roses-can-you-get?! I need this in my life.

 

 

The Beatles

“Here Comes The Sun”

I took a road trip once with my sister at heart and all we had to listen to was an old beatles tape. It was the time of my life.

 

Peter, Paul & Mary

“Puff The Magic Dragon”

This is the lullaby my mother sang to me every night and above all it’s the one thing that I connect to my mother that doesn’t make me sad, angry or lonely. It only makes me feel happy and loved.

3 thoughts on “My Happy Days O.S.T.

    • Thanks for taking the time to read my little scribbles here and to comment on them. It really means a lot to me – I will be sure to check out your blog on my way out – hope to see you around 🙂

  1. Pingback: Rewarding Change and Growth – Versatile Blogger Award « sakuralights

Leave a comment